Sound Bombs


Sound Bombs – 2012
Sand-cast lead, mechanical musical mechanisms
45 x 70 x 80 mm (6 elements)

The abject terror of familiar sounds – using musical boxes sourced from museum gift shops, Sound Bombs deals with the abject terror of familiar sounds. When turned, alluring melodies play despite being filtered through lead encasements – a macabre insistency somewhere in-between the precious and the destructive.

Beethoven – For Elise
Vivaldi – Spring
Mozart – Eine kleine Nachtmusik
Vivaldi – Spring
Haydn – Serenade (now attributed to Roman Hoffstetter)
Tchaikovsky – Blumenwalzer

The London Group Centenary 2013, Cello Factory, London [Catalogue published]